It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2012, 08:41 AM   #1
(female)

Cleocat HB User
Smile Advice wanted

Hi guys
i am totally new to all of this and have never joined a forum before - I don't even know what i am meant to put in the title box !!
Anyway i am now almost two weeks passed having had a right ankle cheilectomy and scope and 1st MTP (?? ) i believe this means that as well as sorting my ankle, my right big toe is now straighter and pinned. The toe and ankle are still bandaged although the stitches are now out. I am a teacher and need to know when I will be able to drive and be able to be on my feet all day.
I hope this doesn't sound like a whine and I know this sort of surgery is neither major or life threatening; however, this was possibly the most painful operation i have ever had I and the first week after was truly awful. The post-op pain was unbelievable and although I have crutches and a 'blue'boot for my foot I am still in a lot of discomfort and just would like some idea of how long a full recovery will take and how much longer i might be off work. Also should i be doing some exercises ? I have not been given any exercises at all and no information to bring home from the hospital. Any help, advice or support would be welcome and much appreciated.
margaret

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-12-2012, 01:19 PM   #2
(female)

AdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB User
Re: Advice wanted

Welcome to the board! This is a great place to get answers big and small.

Look into getting a knee scooter for the time while you are non-weight bearing. I just recently got one and all of the teacher friends I have have gotten one and it saved them.