It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2013, 09:33 PM   #1
(female)

lauralei51 HB Userlauralei51 HB Userlauralei51 HB Userlauralei51 HB Userlauralei51 HB Userlauralei51 HB User
Feeling overwhelmed b4 ankle surgery

Hi, I'm new to these message boards. I stumpled upon this site out of a need to find someone who has been through ankle and foot surgery that I can connect with and get ideas and info from and possibly reassurance and support.

On Feb. 6th, I am having surgery to correct my left ankle and foot. I have an accessory navicular bone that needs to be removed and flat foot that is causing many problems. The procedures being done, besides the above mentioned, are: Calcaneal neck lengthening, Cuneiform osteotomy, Gastroc. recession, Brostrom procedure with possible Peroneal tendon repair.

THAT is what is overwhelming me, along with the thought of the recovery process and being non weight bearing for so long. I have read a lot of different threads that have been very enlightening. I'm just really worried and fearing the unknown. I have had 5 knee surgeries since 2004, but I always knew what to expect with arthroscopy. I am worried because my last knee scope was done in Sept 2012 and I just finished PT for it. It scares me that that leg is the one that will have to be bearing all my weight because it isn't as strong as a normal knee would be. Sigh. There...that's off my chest now. I would appreciate any feedback.

The following user gives a hug of support to lauralei51:
tenderfoot (01-19-2013)
Old 01-19-2013, 10:04 PM   #2
(female)

tenderfoot HB Usertenderfoot HB Usertenderfoot HB Usertenderfoot HB Usertenderfoot HB Usertenderfoot HB Usertenderfoot HB User
Re: Feeling overwhelmed b4 ankle surgery

Good luck Lauralei!!