It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2013, 11:56 AM   #1
(male)

SlappyJones HB User
Calcaneus fracture Please help

Alright here is the short of what happened, I fell off a roof/ladder and fractured my Calcaneus into several pieces also breaking my Tibia. One week later I was the proud owner of a plate with 4 or 5 screws in my heel and 2 more in my Tibia. After 6 weeks from the fall (5 weeks post surgery) the cast has come off and into the boot. Still on crutches put was told I could start transitioning to a cane. PT starts in 4 days, twice a week for the next 6 weeks to start. I am a career Firefighter, I love the outdoors, love mud runs, and just being active. I guess my Question is will I ever be able to do the things I love to do again? I know this is a life changing injury but what should I expect to regain? I have read everything from people using a cane the rest of their lives to people running a 5k a year after surgery. I know it is a uphill battle and takes time. Any help, information, or advise would be great. Please give me something positive because this is my therapy right now.

Old 07-15-2013, 08:51 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Zerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB User
Re: Calcaneus fracture Please help

I don't think you will have to use a cane, but there are not to many people running marathons.

I do everything I want to do, but not all day, except my job. I work on concrete and gravel, but I can sit, and my job involves lots of driving, so I am off it then too.

Extension ladders are harder, due to the small rungs, compared to a normal ladder. Ladders in general are not great.