It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Gallbladder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2007, 02:58 PM   #1
(male)

Oddballs HB User
Post OP gallbladder removal issues

Thanks. Yeah I am surprised they did not recommend staying off fatty foods. The leaflet they gave me even says I could eat normally. But normal for me is obviously not normal as in healthy. I will attempt to remedy the situation. Finding cheap premade food (I am a terrible cook) that is also healthy and not full of saturated fats is difficult. Might have to spend a bit more for a while and see if I can find better food. Or learn to cook perhaps.

Last edited by Oddballs; 04-13-2007 at 04:13 PM.

Old 04-13-2007, 03:28 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

Titchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB User
Re: Post OP gallbladder removal issues

Am surprised they told you to go back to a regular diet! No fat for a month...and then slowly introduce it back into your diet. Whew! I would never have tried that...they were very explicit with me with my post op instructions..nothing greasy, fatty, spicey for 4 weeks. Now, I did fudge a bit and paid the price....good luck.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-13-2007, 04:12 PM   #3
(male)

Oddballs HB User

Hi. I am a 41 year old overweght male. I had gallstone pain (Supposedly) for several years on and off. I also have IBS, a bout of gastritis and other issues too long to list.

It was recommended by the doctor at my hospital to have the gallbladder removed. Roll on to now.

I had it removed using keyhole surgery on thursday last week and left for home the same day. My notes say I was an extensive bleeder and also they say my liver bed bled for a while before stopping on it's own. I also had a rough time coming out of the anaesthesia (Tachycardic).