It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Gallbladder Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2012, 06:45 AM   #1
(female)

dpmom3 HB User
14% hida scan but no other typical symptoms

I've been battling gastric issues for the last 3 months. Started with me just feeling bad, went for a check up, found out I was diabetic (6.6 A1C). Changed diet, started a few meds that made me feel worse. Changed doctors, new doc said I shouldn't have even have had diabetic symptoms at a 6.6, took me off meds and just diet & exercise for now.

A couple weeks later went to the ER in September with chest pains, thought I was having a heart attack. Heart tests all came out fine.

Assumed I was actually having indigestion. Though didn't feel like typical heart burn, more of a chest tightness. I also had a lot of burping, bloating just below ribs in the center, stomach growling, loss of appetite, insomnia, anxiety and just plain feeling bad.

I was first given Dexilant and Nexium for acid reflux, made me feel worse, quit after taking for 20 days and felt better. Don't think I had acid reflux at all.

Saw a gastro dr. next, put me on a couple antibiotics in case there was something bacterial. Ordered a ultrasound and hida scan to rule out gall bladder first. Sent me for a CBC which was good. Ultrasound was completely normal, no stones, thickening or inflammation. Hida scan came back at 14% ejection. I wasn't told at the time to pay attention to how it felt when they injected the stuff, I wasn't asked if I felt pain with that until a month after the fact. I know I didn't have extreme pain I've read other people have, I would have remembered that. Seems like the tech said something like you might feel cramping, what ever he said, I felt. But nothing severe. Gastro sent me for a surgical consult.