It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Gallbladder Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2013, 01:04 AM   #1
(male)

andym1721 HB User
Surgery on Friday, Scared... please help :(

Hi everyone,

I'm a 24-year-old graduate student (male) who was recently diagnosed with gallstones (my doctor said that it appeared that my gall bladder was full of them). I was promptly ushered to a surgeon who seemed quite eager to take it out. In a flurry of events, I'm now scheduled for the surgery on Friday morning.

I'm very anxious, because I have been reading horror stories online and don't know what to think about post-op. I have a few questions below and would greatly appreciate any responses

1) Does anyone know the percentage of people who have real, actual problems post-op???? There is so much conflicting information that I have absolutely no idea what to expect, and it seems like a lot of people don't trust their doctors.

2) Is it okay to drink alcohol after surgery? I've been reading that this is a death sentence. I really don't want to give this up.

3) Can I still exercise after and retain muscle mass?? I've read about people losing excessive amounts of weight after surgery...

And foremost...why wouldn't my doctors even BRUSH on these potential life-altering side effects??? Is it because the effects are uncommon? Or are my physicians being negligent???

Sorry if I seem a bit antsy...it just hit me that I will be going under the knife soon and realized that I don't have much information...thank you everyone for your input.

Old 01-24-2013, 01:38 AM   #2
(female)

goombay HB User
Re: Surgery on Friday, Scared...please help :(

Hi andym,