It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

General Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2007, 10:14 AM   #1
Inactive
(female)

Dark Stranger HB UserDark Stranger HB UserDark Stranger HB UserDark Stranger HB User
Coughing and heavy feeling in my chest

I've been coughing quite a bit for about three months; the cough is what one would call 'productive' about half the time. The other half, it's just a dry cough. I have also been feeling a sort of heaviness in my chest, making it feel like I need to put forth more effort to take a breath. I can still breathe, but it just requires more to take in that breath - as in, sometimes I need to yawn very deeply to feel like I've taken a full breath. There's no air conditioning in here, and between the heat and my increased difficulty inhaling, getting to sleep is harder than normal.

I've asked other people about this and I've gotten suggestions ranging from allergies to asthma to sarcidosis (spelling?). I used to have bronchitis as a child that would get exacerbated by the odor of freshly-cut grass, but I overcame that allergy years ago. I don't know if this is sinus-related because I have had constant headaches for almost a year and since any sinus infections I get tend to only be characterized by headaches, I would never know if I had one.

Any advice? I'm not even sure what kind of doctor to see or speak to about this. I don't trust my regular doctor because she gave me very potent antibiotics on two occasions to cure an infection I never had.

Old 06-22-2007, 11:06 AM   #2
(female)

deedestiny756 HB User
Re: Coughing and heavy feeling in my chest