It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

General Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2007, 05:19 PM   #1
(female)

vegangirl HB User
Skin itches at night - why???

I am at the end of my rope! The last few weeks I have started itching in random places on my body all night long. I thought it was the new perfumed body wash and lotion, so I quit using them for a while - didn't make any difference. Sometimes, the itching is during the day as well, but it's the most bothersome when I'm in bed.

I've also been thinking that maybe it's diet related. We started eating a vegan diet about 4 months ago. Actually, you could call me a vegan on training wheels because I'm still learning what to and what not to eat. Our goal is to lower cholesterol and weight as well as rid ourselves of animal fat and toxins that we've been eating all these years. Hubby did some reading about animal products and their effects on the human body. That's the logic anyway, but I don't feel so good!

My nights of insomnia are at an all time high, and I usually take 2 Tylenol PMs about 3 to 4 times a week. I've been doing that for about 3 years or so. I know I shouldn't, due to danger to the liver. So, now I'm wondering if the itchy skin is because I have liver damage, or some kind of vitamin deficiency due to the vegan diet we're on.

I have a doctor appointment tomorrow and I'll let her know what's been going on and I'm planning on getting my blood work done just to compare my cholesterol level from 4 months ago to now.

Does anyone have any suggestions on any other tests I should ask for? Has anyone else had a similar experience with this skin itching problem?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-12-2007, 06:00 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

dustoffkid HB Userdustoffkid HB User
Re: Skin itches at night - why???