It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

General Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2008, 04:49 PM   #1
(female)

HaveaHeart HB User
Cyst or Lymph Node? Very Painful.

Hello Everyone,

Friday morning, around 4:00am, I woke up with a swollen, very tender/painful knot on the back of my head, sort of where your head and neck meet.

I called my doctor, and due to the fact I had already been there twice that past week due to something else (I tell you, when I fall apart, I fall apart! )

I have Trigeminal Neuralgia, and I thought maybe it was a complication of this, or the medicine I am taking, to control my TN. As, the TN is new to me, so I'm still learning about this itself.

Doctor said "No, I think it's an infected Lymph node, the pain won't last long, try Advil, and Ice".

Well, here it is Saturday evening and the pain and swelling are still around.

I'm beginning to think, maybe a Cyst of some kind? That needs to be drained.

Here are my symptoms......

Pain/Tender
Swelling
Limited ROM (range of motion) of my Neck
and if you lightly touch the area "around" it, it almost feels "numb".

I dont know if this is something I should be seen right away as in tonight, or should I let it wait............. till my doctor opens on monday. I'm

As it's keeping me up, it's so tender.

Thank you for your help.

Old 02-16-2008, 07:28 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

painaway HB User
Re: Cyst or Lymph Node? Very Painful.

Welcome to the boards!! I'm so sorry you're going through this, and in my opinion, I'd have it seen about ASAP! It may be nothing more than a swollen lymph node, but it could be something that needs attention. Never hurts to get it checked out. I'll be praying for you! Please keep us posted...

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-16-2008, 07:40 PM   #3
(female)

HaveaHeart HB User

Hi Painaway,
Thank you for the welcome! I am happy to be here.