It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

General Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2010, 08:14 AM   #1
(male)

IBSisBS HB User
Question Sleeping and general tiredness.

Hi, this is my first time posting on any type of medical boards, so if theres any info I miss off in this post, please just shout.

Some medical history:
-I was diagnosed with undetermined Ulcerative Colitus at the age of 12
-On steriods on and off for 2 years.
-Got back on track with some lovely Azathioprine.
-I got entirely annoyed with the drugs, so I stopped taking them a year ago. Doctors were not doing anything to lower the dosage even though I had been in remission for 3-4 years. About two months after I stopped taking the tablets, the UC symptoms came back into play. I was put back on steroids, finished the course of them, and then stopped taking the tablets again.
-While the Colitus symptoms have came back, they are no where near as bad as what they were. I maybe go to the toilet 4 times a day, with a few stomach cramps in between.

Now on to the post. In July of this year, some sort of severe tiredness has taken over me. Its turned me from someone who was relatively fit and active, to someone who does nothing at all in terms of excersise, because I don't have the energy. Every day, I come home from school, and have anything from 1-3 hours sleep. This is entirely unusual for me. My sleep pattern at night hasn't changed - and I still go to bed at a reasonable time (11 oclock'ish most nights), and I do not feel restless when I wake up. The tiredness usually hits me during the end of school, making it very hard to concentrate sometimes.

Once I feel the urge to sleep coming on, there is nothing I can really do about it, I just have to sleep, and if I don't, I'm cranky and stupidly tired until I do get some sleep.