It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

General Health Message Board

no pain control ....new laws

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2014, 06:13 AM   #1
blessing1
(female)

blessing1 HB User
no pain control ....new laws

Hi everyone!
I am a newbie! I work as a Rn in Icu...so you would think I would be familiar with what was up with these new pain med laws...well all I can say is I really don't agree with what is going on, but I don't see it affecting everyone...and I can't figure out how its working, who gets meds and who doesn't.! It has not affected the way I practice in the hospital, no new policies for Icu, but Er it has...

I have had chroninc pain for as long as I can remember and it appears my girls have it as well, I have had a double mastectomy for breast ca in 2005 and I have some bone spurs on spine. My worst pain is neck and shoulders and hips and low back....I have cyst in my low back..called tarlov cyst....they usually do not cause pain. In my shoulder it is a pinched nerve.....I have a Tens unit which I love and have had injections in my hips...which has helped...I used to take Tylenol 3 and tramadol prn for pain. I have always had anxiety. I took a small dose of xanax 0.25 or most of the time 0.125 as needed not every day.