It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Grief & Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2007, 05:26 PM   #1
(female)

sadsis HB User
Found my brother, can't get over it

I am new to this, but I've been reading some of the postings and my heart goes out to all of you. We are all trying to find our way through this. I think it helps to know that there is a place where you can talk about your feelings, and hear from other people who are dealing with similar experiences. I came home on Nov 8, 2006 and thought my 46 year old brother was sleeping. He was completely healthy as far as I knew, and I had just talked to him before noon that day. He was also my best friend. To back up a little, my entire family lives on the other side of the country, so I was thrilled a year and a half ago when my brother took a job in my area. He and his wife had split up a few years ago, no kids, so it was just him. He moved in with us at first, and it worked out so well he stayed. He became such a big part of our lives, and he and I just had some kind of special connection. We would talk for hours about things, do projects together, he was funny and smart. I could never have imagined what would happen. I wondered why his car was here but the house was dark as I pulled in the driveway. When he wouldn't wake up I realized I had to call 911, they had me trying to do CPR until the ambulance arrived. Then when they got here, they told me it was too late, there was nothing they could do. The whole time I was thinking he would wake up, that this couldn't be happening to him, that I had to save him, that I wished I had taken a CPR class, that if only the paramedics would get here soon they could do something. I keep reliving this in my mind. It's hard to go near where I found him so all of his things are still there. I don't like to come home alone after dark if no one else is here. I try to act