It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Grief & Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2007, 06:51 PM   #1
(female)

brewtown_ska HB User
Advice and Help Needed

Hello All!
I'm a 22-year-old student and I lost my mom when I was 10 from cancer. She had been sick for as long as I could remember. She had a masectomy when I was 5 and they missed some tumorous tissue that was in her lung which turned into lung cancer, then bone cancer, then brain tumors. I watched her fall apart at a very young age. I am an only child, so I have no siblings to turn to for support. My dad never remarried, and I havent had a strong female influence since my mom passed.

Recently, starting fall of 2005 all of those feelings about my mom started surfacing, however only when things werent going my way. If something was wrong all I could do was cry and think was how much I wanted my Mom there, especially with guy problems.

Now, I constantly miss my mom, especially after this recent breakup that i've had. The guy that broke up with me forced me to realize what Ive needed to change, and I don't know how to do it because this uncontrolable feeling towards my mom is in the way.

I've started to have a better relationship with my dad. Until this month, he knew nothing of my fears or hopes or what makes me so upset. But, i still cry almost daily about my mom. I miss her so much, and I feel like if she were here that I would know what to do. I want to miss my mom, yes, but i dont want to miss her to the point that its uncontrolable. And because I dont know how to fix that, I cant seem to tackle the other things that I want to change about myself.

Any advice would be extremely helpful
Thanks,
Megan

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-13-2007, 09:43 PM   #2
(female)

rabbimarymac HB User
Re: Advice and Help Needed