It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Grief & Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-18-2007, 05:14 AM   #1
(male)

lah391 HB User
Facing Death in Your Teens

Hi, everyone. I'm kind of new to this and it's a little bit weird to me. But I think it will be good to get my feelings out. Well, I lost my father last April. April 10, 2006. I was only 15. He was shot and killed. I think I put my grief on a shelf until the summer came because I wanted to be able to get through school. Then summer vacation came. My family wanted me to have some alone time. I cried almost every day that summer. Then I finally got to a point where I wasn't thinking about the death every single day. I felt like I was strong enough to resume a normal healthy life. Not even 6 months after my dad died my uncle was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. He was told he only had a couple months to live. I am thriving now and I am successful being active in my community, my church and my school. I feel really strong as a person now and independent. I feel like I have a grown into a man but I still miss my dad and I think about him every day and I wish he could see the person that I am now.