It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Grief & Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2007, 10:37 AM   #1
(female)

patty777 HB User
Unhappy Lost 2 friends, lots of media coverage

Hi there,

Last Friday two friends were killed in a helicopter crash. I find myself in a fog every since. Can't sleep and have no appetite at all. Crying spells, I imagine you can relate.

What is making this difficult is the crash was filmed. I work in the news business as did my two friends (they were in a news helicopter). It's hard enough to deal with loss but to have the last seconds filmed, it just really makes it insufferable. I feel how the people who had family/friend in the buildings during 9/11 must have felt....you can't believe you know someone in that building/helicopter that was destroyed. It feels very surreal.

And, this isn't fair, but I feel angry at people who say "they are in heaven". I KNOW they mean well but I just don't feel like hearing that right now.

I just want to feel angry, upset and overwhelmed without hearing that "God needed another angel". It feels belittling, as though we don't have a right to be upset.

I don't know. I find myself snapping at people. Tough stuff. Thanks so very much for letting me vent today.

Patty

Last edited by patty777; 07-29-2007 at 11:13 AM.

Old 07-29-2007, 10:53 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

thaliak HB Userthaliak HB Userthaliak HB Userthaliak HB Userthaliak HB Userthaliak HB User
Re: Lost 2 friends, lots of media coverage

Hello Patty,
I am in the news business myself and I do understand how you feel. Bad news isn't always about others....