It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Grief & Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2007, 03:12 PM   #1
(female)

Katiem1 HB User
I feel I've been disrespectful to a friend's loss

Hi
This is difficult because I've never done anything like this before - written on a message board before.
I wonder if someone can help me with my dilemma.
My friends husband died last week after suffering from cancer. No one had been to see my friend because her husband didn't want anyone to see him. I haven't seen my friend for two years but I wrote to her nearly every month over the last year to support her as much as possible. Anyway her husband has died and I stupidly decided to go and visit her to show that I cared. The daughter answered the door and said her mother wasn't seeing anyone - I came away feeling really bad that I visited. I have now sent a letter of apology to my friend explaining that I didn't want to upset her daughter , I only visited because I cared about my friend. Through her grief will she understand and for give me as I feel I've offended the daughter and been really disrespectful for calling at such a time. I don't want to lose my friendship and I've written telling my friend that I will continue to write.

Old 09-08-2007, 03:51 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

angel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB User
Re: I feel I've been disrespectful to a friend's loss

People deal with grief differently. Some want everybody around them, others just want to be left alone.