It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Grief & Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2010, 07:31 PM   #1
(female)

lucy12784 HB User
Is my grief too deep?

In November 2009 my grandmother was diagnosed with lung cancer and was said to have an expectancy of 6 months to 1 year, as a nursing student I know that this truly depends on the person and the cancer. I was fortunate enough to go back home with my husband for the holidays but unfortunate that the day I was going to visit my grandmother we had a huge snow/ice storm. I called her that night asking if she still wanted me to come see her, she told me not to risk my own life. As we were finishing our call I was already crying and telling her I loved her very much, we had made plans to see each other this spring.

Sadly this was the last time I was going to talk to her. She passed away on January 11th. Once I heard of her death I felt like my whole body went numb. I had the opportunity to see her, and didn't take it. I promised her I would call and I didn't. Living out of state makes it hard to visit her, but I have not spent time with her in years. It is now almost 3 months later and I cry every night for her, I want to hug her, hold her, tell her that I love her and most of all that I'm sorry I didn't keep my promise. My grandmother meant the world to me, at a young age my mother abandoned me and my grandmother became a mother figure to me. I hate myself for letting her go like that, and most of all I hate I had the chance and didn't take it.

Beyond the guilt, anger, and sadness I am truly happy that she is no longer hurting and that she went in peace, in her own home, in her favorite chair after being visited by her lost loved ones and expressing that there were angels all around her.