It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Grief & Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2010, 07:35 PM   #1
(female)

sognoazzuro HB User
As a friend, what do I do?

I just met a guy that I am seeing and he has lost his dad about 10 months ago from cancer. He has some good days, some bad days. Often at night time when he clears his mind, he gets very sad. He was close to his dad and has no regrets about his relationship with him. I know that you will never be the same when you lose someone, but I have never dealt with having someone I care very much about grieve right in front of my eyes. I have lost grandparents and great grandparents and a friends boyfriend died in an accident, but I feel like this is something I have no experience with. i want to say the right things, do the right things. My plan at this point is to let him know I accept him for who he is, sad or happy. I understand that he is grieving and I do not blame him for being "off" or distant when he is experiencing sadness. I don't push him to talk to me about it, I just tell him I am here for him if he needs to talk. i asked him if he was seeing a grief counselor and he said he was but he didn't really like the person. He knows he needs to find another counselor but hasn't gotten around to it. There are some items of his dads in his apartment that he can't move because his dad put them there. I cant even imagine looking at something that has been sitting there for almost a year. That is some heavy stuff. Any advice to someone in my position?

Old 06-23-2010, 09:47 AM   #2
(female)

Pittsburgh_Flye HB UserPittsburgh_Flye HB User
Re: As a friend, what do I do?

It sounds to me like you are doing all the right things for him. I think accepting his highs and lows and his knowing you are there for him is all you can do.