It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hair Loss / Alopecia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2004, 02:07 PM   #1

little0ne HB User
Question Diuretic that does NOT cause Hair loss?

Hi,

I just wondered if any of you might know of a diuretic that does NOT cause hair loss the way that HCTZ (hydrochlorothiazide) does?

Do ALL diuretics cause hair loss?

I did not even know that HCTZ causes hair loss until I read it here on the forum, and I'm so darn angry that I was not told.

I have been scarfing back 25 mgs of HCTZ every morning for over three years now, and my hair is soooo thin! (And it used to be really THICK).

Of course, my doctor is 'mystified' about what could be causing my hair to thin so much.

I've tried researching HCTZ online so I could take the info in to him, and cannot come up with ANYTHING definitive that verifies that it does cause hair loss as a side effect, but ... there is no doubt in my mind that it has contributed to mine.

ANY suggestions you might offer for a diuretic that does NOT cause hair loss would be VERY much appreciated. I can't afford to lose anymore hair.

Thanks so much!
Nancy

EDIT: Came back to add - I've been taking the HCTZ for hypertension.

Last edited by little0ne; 05-04-2004 at 02:20 PM.

Old 05-04-2004, 04:33 PM   #2
Inactive

jtu91952 HB User
Re: Diuretic that does NOT cause Hair loss?

Quote:
Originally Posted by little0ne
Hi,

I just wondered if any of you might know of a diuretic that does NOT cause hair loss the way that HCTZ (hydrochlorothiazide) does?

Do ALL diuretics cause hair loss?

I did not even know that HCTZ causes hair loss until I read it here on the forum, and I'm so darn angry that I was not told.

I have been scarfing back 25 mgs of HCTZ every morning for over three years now, and my hair is soooo thin! (And it used to be really THICK).