It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hair Loss / Alopecia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2005, 05:37 PM   #1
(female)

am3 HB User
hypothyroid hair loss

I have bee hypo since December (tsh 63) and am now on Synthroid dosage of 137 mcg. My current tsh is at 8.7 and I have another visit to my endo in 2 weeks. Within the time frame of around 3 weeks I have started losing very large amounts of hair. I know from being a hair stylist I should be losing around 100 per day. Tonight I brushed my hair and counted 379 hairs in the brush! Also my hair line at the nape of my neck has raised about 1 1/2 inches. I also had a couple of stylist check the rest of my hair and I have an overall dimenished thickness throughout my scalp.
Has anyone else experienced this? Coud it be the synthroid? I am starting to get very concerned. I just don't know what to do because according to the nurse at the endo's office: "This is a normal occurance and you should see a difference in about 3 months." I feel like in 3 months I will have no hair left!!!
Please, any insight will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.

Old 03-26-2005, 06:26 PM   #2

tracies HB User
Re: hypothyroid hair loss

I've had hairloss issues with thyroid disease in general - I lost hair while hyper, while hypo, and I see changes in hairloss if I change my synthroid dose. My hair fell out the most actually when I was hypER, which was one of the distressing first symptoms that I was having thyroid problems.