It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hair Loss / Alopecia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2010, 10:03 AM   #1
(female)

itsmekelly HB Useritsmekelly HB User
Thumbs up Levothyroxine Hair Loss Hope

Hair Loss Slowdown, my story (very long)

I wanted to share a success story. I searched and searched for success stories when I was first diagnosed with hypothyroidism and hardly found any. …especially on hair loss.

The hair loss devastated me more than any other symptom I was having.
Please note, I am not a medical professional of any kind, with no training or medical education. This is just my personal experience.

For the past year, I honestly felt terrible. I had no idea what was wrong, I was tired, wasn’t sleeping, no energy, just wasn’t myself. I honestly thought I was going through perimenopause at 41 years old. However when I spoke to my doctor about it, she thought I was crazy. Honestly I felt like I was going crazy….my monthly cycle was messed up, I wasn’t sleeping, moody, cranky, moody, tired, no energy…moody, weight gain, arms and legs felt weighted down…did I mention MOODY LOL.

So I waited a year for my next yearly check-up….I had good days and bad days but finally it was getting worse. I started keeping track of my monthly cycles, making notes of how I felt etc. I started experiencing dry eyes, nose and mouth on top of everything else.

I really like my doctor, I was disappointed that she didn’t hear me out last year nor even thought of doing a thyroid test. But it’s in the past so I don’t dwell on it.

Before my yearly check-up, I was losing hair. Not a ton at this point but more than what I consider normal for me. Now, I am prone to hair loss…after I had each one of my children I lost a ton of hair for a while and thought I’d go bald.