It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hair Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2008, 10:26 PM   #1
(female)

kanch79 HB User
Unhappy Facial hair Removal

I have lot of unwanted hair on my chin and neck. I have been doing laser ND-Yag since about 2 years, but i have not seen good results until now. I have completed more than 10 -11 sittings. I have light brown skin with black color hair. Please suggest me with some good laser type I should switch. Or is there something else I should consider.
Please suggest.
I have enquired from other laser centers, they are using IPL / Diode laser. On researching about these 2 lasers I found good results and reviews, has anyone tried it?
Why did ND-yag not work on me?

Old 05-15-2008, 12:56 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Choice HB User
Re: Facial hair Removal

Are you male or female? How coarse is your hair? Lasers, especially Nd:YAGs are not very effective on female facial hair unless it is very coarse. If you are female and the hairs are not coarse, electrolysis is a better option for you.

Nd:YAG lasers are the safest lasers for brown skin. What is your skin type? IV, V, or VI? Which YAG laser was used? What were the settings? How much training and experience did your technician have?

IPL's are not lasers and are too risky to use on darker skin tones. A diode, if it is the LightSheer is safe to use on type IV and V IF the tech is highly experienced.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-15-2008, 10:31 PM   #3
(female)

kanch79 HB User

I am a female. Alexandrite (Candela) - ND-YAd was used on me with settings of 12ss 22f