It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Headaches & Migraines Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2004, 06:30 PM   #1

DTUMLIN HB User
Imitrex Long Term Use Side Effects?

I have been using Imitrex for my migraines for over 7 years but have found that within the last couple of years I have had memory problems which are getting worse by the day, trouble concentrating,can not put my words together correctly,and some sympthoms of depression. All of these things are not like me at all. I was given some depression medicine at one time however it did not seem to help in any way. When I started taking Imitrex years ago my doctor told me about the heart side effects with the drug. I have had no heart issue but am concerned about my mental health. I did not learn until recently that Imitrex has side effects listed along these lines. Does anyone know how long this disclaimer has been on the Imitrex packaging? I was just so happy to get something to work I never questioned what it is doing to my mind and body.

The Following User Says Thank You to DTUMLIN For This Useful Post:
peggyb68 (06-22-2011)
Old 02-04-2004, 04:56 AM   #2

zavey HB User
Re: Imitrex Long Term Use Side Effects?

i've also been using imitrex for about seven years... and quite frequently. i get migraines and tension headaches on a daily basis. i've tried just about all of the migraine medications out there and the only ones that work for me are imitrex injections and zomig zmt 5mg tablets. i also take high doses of oxycodone and hydrocodone for the pain.