It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Headaches & Migraines Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2004, 09:28 AM   #1
(male)

2talll HB User
Other options other than amitriptyline?

JUst found this board searching around for amitriptyline info.

I have been taking 50MG of amitriptyline for my migraines for years now and it's time to try something else. The occurance of the headaches is the same whether I am on the meds or if I stop taking them. The side effects of the amitrptyline (the drowsiness, occassional dizziness, feeling crappy after being outside for a long time- I'm a PE teacher so being outside is part of the job, etc. etc.) are more of a problem than the med is worth.

I've tried just stopping taking it for a few days at a time to see what happens and the days I am not on it I am much more productive: I am up much earlier and ready to go rather than draggin myself out of bed and being halfdead until lunch and no headaches other than one I woke up with a few days ago which the Aleve took care of within a half of of taking it and going back to bed.

Any other meds that can work like/better than Amitriptyline without the side effects?

Anyone else wondering why amitriptyline would be be given for migraines when headaches are a side effect of the med?

I know I need to find a new headache doctor so I want to know what to talk to him about (what is the medical term for one?) since I'm beginning to think mine is a quack. I jsut looked at the side effects of this med and not only is headaches on there, but seizures as well. What the heck was he thinking putting me on this KNOWING that I've already had an unexplained seizure in the past??

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-18-2004, 04:54 PM   #2
Inactive

Karla HB User
Re: Other options other than amitriptyline?