It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Headaches & Migraines Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2007, 05:41 PM   #1
(female)

feelmylife HB User
Tension headaches and eye pressure?

Hello everyone. I'm new to the headache board and have a question--I apologize in advance that it's long, but I'm not sure what's important to include and what's extraneous.

I have had tension headaches for years (or at least that's what I think they are). The muscles around my temple and at the back of my head feel clenched. Miserable, but I can deal with it, and my doc gave me Esgic for when it's really bad since NSAIDs don't really work.

However, over the last year or two the headaches have gotten much more localized and often involve pain behind my right eye. When this happens the vein in my temple throbs, and the entire eyeball feels like it's swollen--lots of pressure behind it. At its worst the pain behind the eye is hot and sharp and utterly excruciating.

Dropping barometric pressure can bring on a headache, but even on a day like today, crystal clear sky and no "weather" forecast, my head is aching.

My allergy doc (I'm allergic to pollens, animals, mold, etc) did a CT of my sinus and said it looks good, so at his suggestion I'm seeing a neurologist, but that appt is a month away.

In the meantime, I'm having headaches around the clock, with lots of eye pressure (just the right eye). I can feel that the muscles in my head are clenched, and I consciously try to relax them, but that only lasts a moment or two. And the pressure behind my eye is awful.

Oh--I clench when I sleep. I have a nightguard, but often wake up with the sides of my face feeling sore/tired. And in case it's relevant, I also recently (3 weeks ago) started taking Wellbutrin for depression/anxiety, and take Astelin and Pulmicort for allergy/asthma issues.