It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Health Insurance Issues Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2012, 01:27 PM   #1
(female)

LovelyLady86 HB User
Post Proving disability?

I'm new to HealthBoards and wanted to tell everyone hello. I had a couple questions about my disability claim. I've been turned down twice and now I'm awaiting my hearing. My lawyer filed it in December 2011 so hopefully it'll be December of this year. I've been diagnosed with major depressive disorder, post traumatic stress disorder, and social phobia by my psychiatrist. She put me on trazodone 150 mg, vistaril 50 mg, abilify 20mg, and celexa 40 mg. I also have knee problems among other health problems. I take tramadol 50 mg for that. I fell and dislocated my knee and tore some tendons last year. Ever since then I have been unable to work due to pain in my knee if I stand on it for too long. I found this out when I got a stand up job at a factory. I didn't last 2 days because the pain of standing up 8 hrs on my knee was unbearable. I wanted to know if this will be a bad thing against my disability claim since I actually worked? Like when I go to court what if the judge asks me why did I try to work if i applied for disability? He has to understand I had to try to make a living for myself. But this job proved I can not do any stand up work. How do I explain this to the judge without medical evidence. My knee doctor told me that everything is fine now with my knee after the knee arthroscope surgery he performed last year. I told him about what happened at my last job since the surgery and he just tells me to do some exercises. I just don't see how I will win my case without my doctor backing me up saying I can't work. I know that my knee will never be normal again and wish this never happened