It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Healthcare Professionals Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2004, 07:52 PM   #1
(female)

alltaken HB User
Major: Nursing RN

My major is nursing. I'm not in the program yet. I'm taking my pre-req.s now and hopefully will be in the program sometime soon in the future.

I'd like to work on the OB floor in a hospital, doing maternity nursing. Is there any nurses here on Healthboards who are currently doing this? And how do you like it?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-03-2004, 06:58 AM   #2

stacey01 HB User
Re: Major: Nursing RN

I too am in nursing school currently finishing up in a little while. I also want to work Labor and Delivery but often times that is under "specialized" nursing and you must wait after you get womens health experience in some form before working in l and d. I have gotten many opinions from teachers ,etc. Most of them say they dont like maternity nursing because of the fact that it is VERY messy. But there are some that just dont mind the whole scene and have worked as an OB nurse for years. Its personal preference i suppose. Just remember depending on the area youre in, the school you attend, and experience will be the deciding factor whether youll be hired into OB nursing fresh out of school. Just explore the other depts in a hospital and see what else you could do to get the experience you need!! Good luck with nursing school, and remember its difficult and demanding but WELL WORTH IT!! Everywhere needs GOOD nurses

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-03-2004, 07:43 AM   #3
(female)

alltaken HB User

You say you're in nursing school, do you mean your in the nursing program then right? If so, how long do you have before you graduate, and what has been the hardest part so far? And what have you enjoyed the most?

Old 10-03-2004, 12:22 PM   #4

stacey01 HB User