It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Healthcare Professionals Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2005, 08:30 PM   #1
(female)

mtelsey HB User
Question xray tech/ultrasound tech info:PLEASE

I am a 26 year old mother of 3, and have not been to school since I graduated highschool. I am really interested in becoming an ultrasound tech/sonographer and/or xray tech. I would really appreciate any info that any can give to shoot me in the right direction. What classes would I have to take? How long is the total schooling for it? Is it a good career to get into? I am an army spouse also, so we don't have money coming out of our rear (so to speak ), and also need info on grants, loans, things of this nature. I am also worried about going back to school after so long of not doing any schooling at all. I did get a pharmacist assistant certification, but that really isn't doing me any good. Also since we are military, it is very possible we will have to move while I am in school. Is it difficult to transfer to a new location once I am in the actual training/schooling part of the profession?? Thank you to everyone who can please help me in this decision.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-11-2005, 05:17 AM   #2
(male)

zorba HB User
Re: xray tech/ultrasound tech info:PLEASE

mtelsey,
It takes 2 years to become a registered radiographic technologist (associates degree). I don't know where you're from, but most of the x-ray programs i've seen are located in community type colleges or a branch of a big university. Usually, you must take an entrance type exam to which your score will be compared and considered with the rest of the applicants. The pre-requisites vary slightly among each program. Among the most common are anatomy and physiology 1 and 2, college algebra, and english.