It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Healthcare Professionals Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2005, 02:25 PM   #1

amaranthine HB User
Considering A Career In Nursing But My Background Is Unrelated

I'd really appreciate help from nurses or nursing students...

I have a Bachelor's Degree in English Literature, and I'm about to complete a Master's Degree in Women's Studies. I am looking at either law school or nursing school next. There just isn't a lot of job security in the non-profit sector, which is where I originally wanted to work.

I'm thinking about getting an Associates to be a Registered Nurse. Is the pay that much below someone with a Bachelor's in nursing? The level of responsibility? The level of respect? I just don't want to spend another 4 years in college since I already have a Bachelor's & Master's in different fields.

Thanks in advance!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-30-2005, 03:42 PM   #2
(male)

nsmatch HB User
Re: Considering A Career In Nursing But My Background Is Unrelated

I'm not a nurse, so I can't answer the peer-to-peer respect issue, but there are plenty of nurses in the field that have switched from previous careers to nursing and found it rewarding.

I tend to think the best nurses are not based upon what degree they have, but their understanding of the patient's condition and how hard they try to help the healthcare team keep the patient on the road to recovery. I'll take that nurse anytime over a BSN-PhD nurse that sits and does the minimum each day and counts the minutes until the shift is over.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-30-2005, 06:42 PM   #3
Inactive
(male)

last1 HB User