It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Healthcare Professionals Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2010, 04:46 PM   #1
(male)

Yixian HB User
TERRIBLE Medical Student's Syndrome

I've never been much of a hypochondriac, worried about things now and again like everyone else, but nothing major.

I am a second year medical student and about a week ago I was suddenly struck by the most miserable, unbearable case of medical student's syndrome.

Medical student's syndrome is basically hypochondria in medical students as they read about new diseases, and is apparently quite common.

The problem is I have historically had a problem with anxiety and this is rapidly getting out of control for me..

First I was convinced I had a brain tumour. I get chronic tension headaches and had a period of having them worse than normal. The headaches are much better now and this is less of a concern.

Instead, I am now interpreting every little twitch, tingle and pain as ALS..

For example, I was feeling fine about an hour ago, then suddenly noticed I had a small area of raw, sensitive skin on my left hand. I started poking and prodding it and eventually the whole bloody hand hurt.
It still feels sensitive and I don't know why, but basically I quickly went from calm to almost having a panic attack.

It is making me really miserable now, I am starting to have feelings like "with all the things you can get in the world, what's the point?" and I just want to stop worrying.

It's specific diseases too - neurological, incurable, without known causes. Brain tumours, MS, ALS etc.

Now every twitch of my body sends my into a panic.. I can't bare it.

Really need some guidance here

EDIT: