It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Healthcare Professionals Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2010, 01:55 PM   #1
(female)

bluelu HB User
Is 58 too old to begin a career in nursing?

how'd you do? I an now 58, have an associates in nursing and a valid license that I haven't used in more than 7 years due to choosing to care for my disabled son at home full time. I'd like to get my BSN and return to work. Any advice? I also have a 15 year old at home and a 19 year old at university. My oldest son is now 26, still at home, but stable. And, yes, I am a single parent and am now also dealing with my aging parents' issues. Is it too late for me? I am so tired of being dirt poor. All replies welcome. I'm a newbie to message boards Thanks.

Old 01-04-2011, 03:04 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

jenj770 HB Userjenj770 HB Userjenj770 HB Userjenj770 HB Userjenj770 HB Userjenj770 HB Userjenj770 HB Userjenj770 HB Userjenj770 HB Userjenj770 HB Userjenj770 HB User
Re: Is 58 too old to begin a career in nursing?

Hi blulu,

I commend you for doing all you are doing. I don't think it's ever too late to follow your heart's (or pocketbook ) desire. I've heard of people returning to school in their 80's! Also, if what they say is true, 58 is now the new 48. Apparently we're all a decade younger than our age in this modern era.

With all best wishes for you.

Jen

The Following User Says Thank You to jenj770 For This Useful Post:
bluelu (01-05-2011)
Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-04-2011, 03:16 AM   #3
Facilitator
(female)

sjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB User