It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Healthcare Professionals Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2012, 05:28 PM   #1
(male)

jephph HB User
Where Can I find HIPAA Rules and regulations

Please don't point me to the official HHS HIPAA website. I need very specific information. I took a test recently, and there were many questions on the test that were not explained in the book I studied. I've looked through many different sites, and still can't find the information. Here are some of the questions (most related to HIPAA laws and/or recommendations):
1. When going paperless, after scanning PHI, should the paper be securely disposed of, or sent through a secure courier to a secure location?
2. If a person is using 3 apps within an EMR, how many unique logons should they have? (0,1,2,3)
3. What is the minimum number of times a PHI file should be rewritten in order to be considered sanitized? (1,5,7,10)
4. What is the maximum password age? (30days, 45days, 75days, 90days)
5. A help desk ticket is sent in asking for modified permissions to part of an EMR, who should you escalate the ticket to? (Network admin, Security admin, Database admin, System admin)
6. What is the minimum resolution for scanning documents into an EMR? (200dpi, 300dpi, 500dpi, 800dpi)
7. Which is the preferred method of disposing of PHI? (Sanitizing, Degaussing)

This information is definitely not in the book that I studied, and I'm having a real tough time finding it online as well. If someone who works in Healthcare IT knows the answers, please let me know. A link to these specific HIPAA rules and regulations would also be very helpful. Thank you.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-24-2012, 07:07 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

Titchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB User