It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hearing Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2003, 07:53 PM   #1

honeycat HB User
Post i hear double

Has anyone ever had a problem with hearing things within a cetain frequency range as VERY distorted? Music out of tune, voices as though signal-processed, etc. Accompanied by ringing and pressure.... I am a musician; this condition came upon me overnight, and it makes playing and listening to music ridiculous.

Any feedback WELCOME.

Old 03-05-2003, 05:44 AM   #2
Inactive

zip2play HB User
honeycat,

It sounds like you need a visit to an audiologist who will expose you to the range of discernable sounds and graph your sensitivity to the spectrum.

Maybe some damage from overexposure to loud music. (I've read something about over-loud over-long can cause persistent vibration of the cilia in the inner ear.)

In the meanwhile, wear eaplugs when performing in front of speakers.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-05-2003, 07:29 AM   #3
Inactive

mlgable HB User
You do need to get this checked out. Sounds to me like you have been playing music without earplugs and any music at those levels over periods of time can damage your hearing. Make an appointment to get this checked out and in the meantime wear earplugs when you play music until you can get this checked.

Old 09-21-2004, 07:47 PM   #4

Chicago Sandy HB User
Re: i hear double