It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hearing Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2011, 01:21 PM   #1
(male)

StudentRyan HB User
Post-Op Stapedectomy Expectations

Hi everyone, hope you can answer my questions.

I'm scheduled to have surgery Feb 10th 2011 (a Thursday morning). I am a college student who will need to be back in class on Monday morning, so I have the weekend to rest at home.
Will this be enough time?
Also, do you think I will be able to drive the 2.5 hours from my home to college Sunday afternoon?

I will have to go back to the doctor the following Friday to get the packing taken out. I was wondering if this packing is visible from the outside? I hadn't planned on telling anyone about the surgery but don't want them to ask questions upon seeing the packing.

Also, I'm getting really nervous after reading the posts on this website. I have minor hearing loss right now in my left ear. My main reason for the surgery is to reduce a pressure sensation which has troubled me since February 2010 (so almost a year!). I've seen three separate doctors who all suggested the surgery. I would hate to go into the surgery and come out suffering one of the major side-effects- complete hearing loss, ringing, facial paralysis, etc but I really just cant see myself continuing on any longer with the weird pressure, crackling and static sounds in my ear (when around loud noises), and the sensation of fluid build up when I sleep on my left side.

Old 02-15-2011, 01:18 AM   #2
(female)

Helenfrances HB User
Re: Post-Op Stapedectomy Expectations

Quote:
Originally Posted by StudentRyan View Post
Hi everyone, hope you can answer my questions.

I'm scheduled to have surgery Feb 10th 2011 (a Thursday morning). I am a college student who will need to be back in class on Monday morning, so I have the weekend to rest at home.
Will this be enough time?