It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hearing Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2012, 11:34 PM   #1
(female)

tinaann HB User
Stapedectomy recovery help

Hi i'm new to this...but i thought i would try it out....

I was diagnosed with Otosclerosis in January 2012....i had a stapedectomy surgery done on my right ear on Aug 28th 2012 and it was awful for a few days. I had major dizziness after surgery i even vomited once. I think i had vertigo...i wasnt even able to lay on my back. But after a few days i was back to feeling normal again. (meaning the dizziness went away). a week later i went back to see the ENT doctor and he took out the packaging...thats today Sept 5th. But i am not happy with the results I thought i would be 100% recovered and i would hear normal again. He did some kind of test to prove that the surgery was successful. He prescribed ear drops for me that i have to take twice a day for a week and then i have to go see †the ENT again in 2 weeks. He said theres still fluid in my ear and it hasnt healed 100% but it will take some time. Is this normal? How long does it really take? i guess i just have to be patient. I honestly still cant hear anything on my right ear now. I feel like its clogged or something..and theres weird sounds that come and go. But maybe after i take the drops it will go away?†also here and there my ear pops. Someone help!!

Old 09-06-2012, 04:06 AM   #2
(female)

billcindy1 HB Userbillcindy1 HB Userbillcindy1 HB Userbillcindy1 HB Userbillcindy1 HB Userbillcindy1 HB User
Re: Stapedectomy recovery help

Hi Tinnann...