It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2004, 08:31 PM   #1

Shawn98 HB User
Question Some one please answer me?

will someone please answer this post? i really need some advice.

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here. Since I was 15 I have been DX with MVP, Mitral Valve Prolapse. I have never been on medication for it. The reason I got DX with it is because I was having really bad panic attacks which led me to see a cardiologist. Anyways sometimes I will be sitting there and I will feel my breath go away for a half of a second. I took my pulse and i became alarmed when I would feel the quick breath go away I would feel my heart skip a beat. Anyways I am not over weight, I am 6'2 188. Just about everytime I walk into a store that has a machine to let you see your blood pressure, When i take it , it is always 144 over 85. or 135 over 80. I am not over weight, but I do not excorsise like I should. Can someonme not over weight have high blood pressure? and only be 25 years old like myself? And whats witht he shortness of breth when the heart skips? any advice? looking forward to hearing from you! Shawn

Old 11-13-2004, 08:00 AM   #2
Inactive

Jack51 HB User
Re: Some one please answer me?

Hi Shawn,

I have done a little reading on MVP and will try to post some info below. Your symptoms seem to fit your condition. It has been 10 years since your diagnosis of MVP. Have you had an echocardiogram lately? If not I would see a doctor and schedule one. They really get a good look at the mitral valve and it's function, I have read.