It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-18-2005, 04:22 PM   #1
(female)

whatitisyo HB User
Mitral Valve Prolapse syndrome

Hi, does anyone else here suffer from this disease? I think I do, but how do you go about getting diagnosed. I have mitral valve prolapse, and chronic orthostatic intolerance(similar to POTS) but no MVP syndrome. THe cardiologist has checked me for it, but I just recently read up on it. I have every symptom. any info would be good. and how did you go about getting diagnosed?
I'm tired of being tired, light headed, and dizzy

Old 11-21-2005, 07:35 AM   #2
(female)

livfortoday HB User
Re: Mitral Valve Prolapse syndrome

I am not an expert but I was told many years ago i had mvp, that was with old technology but now with better equipment they can really tell if you have it. FIrst a good cardo doc can hear it, second the electro cardiagram (the ultra sound) will show it. My husband has it really bad is is going for open heart surgey in a week. A TEE test (which is a tube inserted in your mouth and goes down gives a very good picture of it) you are put under for this. Anxiety could cause some of these feelings but I have found that doing a bunch of complaining to the cardo doc especially if you are young, because for some reason I don't think they take us young people as seriously. This will help because he or she will follow up with procedures Good Luck.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-21-2005, 01:42 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

started04 HB Userstarted04 HB Userstarted04 HB Userstarted04 HB Userstarted04 HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatitisyo