It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2006, 06:47 PM   #1
(female)

bowva HB User
Really High Heart Rate While Exercising

I am a 44 yr old female. I have been exercising regularly (3-4x/week) for 13 years and started running 3-4 times a week one year ago. My resting heart rate....well, while I was sitting on the chair last week watching tv..... was 50. I would imagine my real RHR would be in the 40's. I like to think of myself as being in good shape. Running is the hardest thing I've ever done but I'm keeping at it. I'm up to doing 4 miles in 40 minutes. I know, quite slow, but I feel it's the best workout. I'd say within 10 minutes of starting, my heart rate goes up to the 170's and pretty much stays there the whole time.......around 173. I'm starting to get concerned. I would think with my fitness level, it wouldn't be so high. On the other hand, I don't feel like I'm killing myself effort-wise......it just feels like a good workout. I can talk while running but it isn't totally easy. It also goes up this high while doing other work-outs.........a spin class or step class. I've been wearing a heart rate monitor for years and this has always been the case. Just wondering if this is something I should be concerned about. Thanks for any info.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-18-2006, 09:59 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

started04 HB Userstarted04 HB Userstarted04 HB Userstarted04 HB Userstarted04 HB User
Re: Really High Heart Rate While Exercising

From the info posted, it doesn't appear to be any problem regarding your aerobic exercise and resting heartbeat. Your aerobic exercise is effective, and HR 50 at rest is the expected value for a well conditioned heart.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-18-2006, 11:48 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

Lenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB User