It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2007, 12:28 PM   #1
(male)

JackofSpades HB User
Question about chest discomfort

Hi All.

I have been expreiencing some strage symptoms that have lasted for about three years. I am 30 years old and am overweight with HBP. I take Metoprolol for that.

I sometimes get chest discomfort at different spots in my chest, best way to describe it is a gnawing feeling. This doesnt happen while exercising, and I have not experienced shortness of breath. I have had 2 EKG's and blood work done and my doctor says that everything appears normal. He diagnosed me with panic and anxiety disorder a number of years ago and tells me that, that is where my pain comes from.

Anyone have opinions on whther this sounds cardiac in nature?

Old 11-14-2007, 03:41 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

started04 HB Userstarted04 HB Userstarted04 HB Userstarted04 HB Userstarted04 HB User
Re: Question about chest discomfort

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackofSpades View Post
Hi All.

I have been expreiencing some strage symptoms that have lasted for about three years. I am 30 years old and am overweight with HBP. I take Metoprolol for that.

I sometimes get chest discomfort at different spots in my chest, best way to describe it is a gnawing feeling. This doesnt happen while exercising, and I have not experienced shortness of breath. I have had 2 EKG's and blood work done and my doctor says that everything appears normal. He diagnosed me with panic and anxiety disorder a number of years ago and tells me that, that is where my pain comes from.

Anyone have opinions on whther this sounds cardiac in nature?
Hi Jack,

If an individual doesn't experience chest discomfort with exercise, it seems reasonable that chest discomfort isn't caused by oxygen deprivation and is noncardiac.