It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2008, 03:16 AM   #1
(female)

mel8801 HB User
Cool Getting ready for surgery (Help)

Hi...I am new to board but I really need some encouraging words. I am having Mitral Valve suregry 4-16-08. I was OK until I went to my pre-op today and they told me everything they were going to do. My biggest fear is waking up
in recovery ad seeing all the tubes. I am 63 years old and in otherwise great shape and feel kinda foolish for be so afraid. Anybody have any advice on how to calm down??? Thanks for your time Mel

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-14-2008, 06:40 AM   #2
(male)

ellisci HB User
Re: Getting ready for surgery (Help)

good luck mel !

Please come back to the board and let me know how you got on.

I am at the very early stages of going for open heart surgery on my mitral valve to hopefully repair it. I am waiting to see the surgeon for my 1st consultation after been told following an endoscopy that i will require surgery.

I am only 34 but this is something i have had since birth.

I wish you very well with your operation.
I think your anxieties are all completely natural so try not to worry too much. The tubes are just hospital things needed to monitor your health after your operation.

I bet after a few days you will be free of them.

Take care

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-14-2008, 07:45 AM   #3
(female)

mel8801 HB User
Thumbs up Re: Getting ready for surgery (Help)

Hi Ellisci,

I am just setting around waiting for Wednesday. I did not know until recently that MVP was inheritied. Mine really started acting up in the 70's after my daughter was born. They kept it under control with Meds