It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2008, 09:36 PM   #1
(female)

perfectann HB User
Tachycardia, Fluid Volume, Headaches, Syncopy?

I'm an 18-year-old college student with a rather long list of health problems. The most recent of these problems is tachycardia. The first episode I can remember was when I was in high school, probably at 15 or 16. Since then, I've had 10 or 15 episodes where my heart rate can range anywhere from 130 to 200. It pounds hard and can be accompanied by headaches, dizziness, weakness, confusion, and body temperature fluctuations. My usual resting rate is mid to high 60s. I do have problems with anxiety, but during these episodes I don't feel panicked or anxious. These attacks seem to start when I'm moving around (showering, walking, climbing stairs) and can last an hour or a day. I've tried the techniques my PCP suggested (bearing down, etc), and nothing seems to work. The only way I've found I can get relief is to take a Klonopin wafer (.25 mg). It usually knocks me out, and when I wake up my heart feels fine.

I've had EKGs, echocardiograms, and a holter monitor. I'm currently trying a 30-day event monitor. None of the tests thus far have showed anything, and my doctor's most recent theory is hormones. The only correlation he's been able to find is perhaps hormones. Several of my episodes have occurred while I was premenstrual, and seemed to dissipate when my cycle started (chest soreness and headaches can hang around for a few days).