It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2008, 09:34 PM   #1
(male)

robert06 HB User
aortic valve replacement

hello....this is my first time on a blog so bare with me please. has anyone had an aortic valve replacement surgery that can tell me if they chose a mechanical valve or pig valve? i am struggling with a decision on which to do. i am 53 and in tremendous health.

thank you

Old 11-18-2008, 04:55 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

harka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB User
Re: aortic valve replacement

Both valves obviously have their pros and cons. The pig valve doesn't last as long, but at the same time, you don't have to take blood thinners for the rest of your life. It's a hard call. Why are you getting an aortic valve replacement (AVR)? Do you have a congenital valve abnormality?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-18-2008, 09:55 PM   #3
(male)

robert06 HB User

i have a severe aortic regurgatation. i am going in again in january for a followup echo. my cardiologist said i will hav to get it replaced at some point, so i figured since i am as healthy and strong as i am now, i might as well get it done.

Old 12-30-2008, 07:29 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

goldyfm HB Usergoldyfm HB Usergoldyfm HB User