It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2009, 10:54 AM   #1
(female)

lisaj 77 HB User
Question congestive heart failure--when to go to ER

Hi,
My mom is 89 yrs old, has severe aortic stenosis, atrial fibrilliation and, now heart failure. She was hospitalized early Sept for 8 days where they diagnosed her fibrillation and put her on amiodarone and coumadin. Her stenosis is being monitored, but she's considered too frail for and doesn't want to endure open heart surgery. Her stenosis is also not considered "critical" yet.

About a month ago I noticed her eyelids were swollen. I thought she had an infection. Her cardiologist thought it was a "normal part of aging" but while I'm no doctor, I know her well and her lids looked swollen vs sagging. Last week, she felt very fatigued walking to her senior center. The fatigue increased. During the week her nose was running a bit, she had some congestion and a cough. She lives alone, but I'm 15 minutes away and check in on her regularly (she lives in a building with a doorman and many people who check in on her as well--pretty close to being one step away from independent living community.) She kept telling me she thought she was coming down with a cold. I urged her to see the cardiologist, but she refused. Thursday night, she could no longer walk up the 2 steps it takes to get her mail. But Friday, she felt totally fine, was able to get her mail and wrote the whole thing off to a cold. When I saw her on Saturday, she FINALLY showed me her legs, which were totally swollen. I realized she was in congestive heart failure. I contacted her cardiologist who told her to take 1 of her diurectic pills (the expiration date was 9/15/09) and see him on Tuesday morning (his first office hours.) He said if she has shortness of breath upon resting, then take her to the ER.