It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2011, 12:00 PM   #1
(male)

Roy 43 HB User
Very Worried

Dear All

I am a newbie here. As the header says I had a quaruple heart bypass nine years ago, when I was 49. To some degree I can only blame myself given my lifestyle at the time, but you know the old saying "it will never happen to me". Well it did.

I can honestly say that my bypass was a total success, it was carried out by Mr Mediratta at The Liverpool Heart and Chest Clinic. A real Gent with a fantastic bedside manner.

On or around August 2010 I was not feeling very well, I consulted with my cardiologist who booked me in for a chemical stress test. When the results came back I was told that all my bypass grafts were in prestige condition. I was very reluctant to believe this as I was not feeling at all well and was having both chest and throat pains. Nothing to the same magnitude some nine years earlier, but still uncomfortable.

I complained further and had to attend the hospital to have and angiogram with contrast, I had to stay in the day ward. My cardiologist visited me later that day after my angiogram. I could tell by his face that I was going to be given bad news. He told me that three of my bypass grafts were in perfect condition but one to the right hand side of my heart I beleive it's a vein graft from my leg was completely blocked and they were not in a position to do anything about it. My heart surgeon told me he did not want to open my chest again as he could damage the three good grafts but there was nowhere to bypass the blocked graft to in any case.