It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Herpes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2003, 10:47 AM   #1

Javajnkie HB User
Herpes outbreak PLUS cracked tongue/canker sores?

Hi,
About 8 months ago, at the ripe old age of 34, I experienced my very first oral herpes ob. I wasn't even sure what it was--it started as what seemed like canker sores, then the sores moved out to my lips. The inside of my mouth was raw, and the outside blisters were atypical (that is, they didn't start as tiny blisters--they literally were just extensions of the interior sores). From there, the outbreak progressed as normal--with the sores inside healing up and the sores on my lips weeping and then crusting over. I went to the doctor because I wasn't sure what was wrong, and was diagnosed (visually) as having HSP I.

Since then, I've had them like clockwork whenever stress hits (I'm a graduate student--this means I've been having outbreaks like clockwork every six weeks). They've been really bad, and not getting better with time. I have flu-like symptoms, feel physically ill, then get outrageous tingling and burning on my lips followed by MASSIVE swelling of the lips. After two days of swelling, the sores follow. While the first few times the sores were in the same spots on the lips (and on the inside of my lips), they've begun to multiply and now I get them on my lips, on the borders of my lips and on the 'cracks' on the corners of mouth.