It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Herpes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2005, 02:25 PM   #1
(female)

lola1777 HB User
Breakout, HELP!

Help! I am new to having HVS1, I got it a month ago and my baby got it too. We both went to the doctor but they told us it was too late to start any meds, it had been day 3 by then. Well, I got a huge blister on my lip the whole top lip and it was so embarrasing. It lasted for 2 weeks before it got better and finally on the 3rd week went away. I just kept putting vaseline on it everyday like the doctor suggested. Well, yesterday I started with the tingling sensation and itching all over again, so immediately I took the aciclovyr and applied abreva to it. Now, today it is so swollen, it looks like I had botox injections on my upper lip. It is so huge. I don't know what else to do. To top it off we are leaving for vacation in 5 days. Help, please...any advice to speed healing!

Old 03-04-2005, 05:00 PM   #2
(female)

Sue HB User
Re: Breakout, HELP!

Oh Boy.......yes I do know what you're going through. I'm going through it right now......only on my BOTTOM lip. I've tried everything imaginable. I get this Virus often, sometimes on my chin. When it gets into the lips, I'm a goner! haha.......lymph nodes are also swollen all the way down my throat to catch the infection. I've tried acycolvir and everything else. So, I "do" know what severe means and how crappy it is to have this!

Just found a new ointment. It's pretty excellent for me. It's called Zilactin. Can buy it at the drugstore for about $8.00. Also got some Chapstick for cold sores. This is in a tube. HAS to have CAMPHOR in it. The more the better.

Wash area with soap. I use Irish Spring (green). It helps to dry it out.
Apply the Zilactin - it's stings alittle. Zilactin also helps to dry it out.