It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Herpes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2005, 03:56 PM   #1
(female)

teendaughter HB User
virgin teen daughter newly diagnosed with gh, thru oral sex

hi, newbie here. my virgin 15 yr old daughter was recently diagnosed with genital herpes (type 1, i assume). i believe her when she claims it was thru oral sex with her current boyfriend (i did not at first, of course). it has been several months now. she has had 2 ob since the initial ob, not near as bad as the initial. it just breaks my heart that she has to go thru this, and at such a young age, and she hasn't even had "sex" yet... she seems to be handling it much better than i, but i think it is because she has no concept of how cruel this world can be.....any advice to a very sad mother.

Old 03-21-2005, 05:29 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

beaker24 HB User
Re: virgin teen daughter newly diagnosed with gh, thru oral sex

If she got herpes through oral sex then it is likely to be type 1, although that is not for definite. On the bright side, if it is type 1, she simply has what at least 40% (some studies suggest higher) of the population have on their mouths in a "worse" place... in fact, one way of looking at it is that it is not worse. She should suffer less with type 1 genitally than either those with type 2 genitally or even type 1 orally, the statistics suggest (of course, some people don't fit the picture).

I got genital type 1 after having had oral type 1 for years. I had problems in the early months where I was having one long outbreak or perhaps it was like 3 running into each other. I also had increased sensitivity in the area for a while and some neuralgic pain in my legs.