It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Herpes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2005, 04:53 PM   #1
(female)

Julia_dances HB User
how to survive - help, please :o)

First of all, so glad to find this wonderful support forum. I feel good about posting my queries here!

I contracted herpes in November from my boyfriend, who had a cold sore and gave me oral sex. I believe my doctor said I have Type 1. My outbreak was the hardest thing I have experienced in my life. Within 24 hours, I went from zero syptoms, to itchy red bumps all over the outside of my vagina, to painful blisters and sores on the outside AND inside of my vagina. I am sure I spread them horribly by itching, simply thinking I had an itch! On top of all the other side effects, I was in so much pain that I was unable to walk OR go to the bathroom. I am a young teacher, and had to have a supply teacher work for me for half a week, because I could only urinate while sitting in a warm bath. I didn't want to eat or consume liquids, because going to the bathroom without the aid of a bath became impossible. It was the worst time of my life, to be immobile for a week under "strange circumstances" to all who knew me, but my boyfriend and best friend. I have never experienced such pain.

Obviously, I have feared my second outbreak with every bone in my body, knowing the complete shut-down of my professional and personal life and the unbearable pain and coping techniques that accompanied my outbreak.