It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Herpes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2007, 11:19 PM   #1
(female)

stasis4 HB Userstasis4 HB Userstasis4 HB User
can herpes cause cervical cancer ?

I read something on a medical website that was disturbing : It said that
genital herpes can cause cancer of the cervix !!
what my understanding previously was, was that herpes increases the risk for this cancer in the presence of the std HPV when the HPV strain is an oncogenic variety.

Does anyone know if just herpes by itself can cause cervical cancer ?

"Upset"

Old 09-11-2007, 01:00 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Audrey-B HB UserAudrey-B HB UserAudrey-B HB UserAudrey-B HB UserAudrey-B HB User
Re: can herpes cause cervical cancer ?

I'm no expert, but from my limited reading i doubt herpes on it's own would actually cause cancer of the cervix. I recently had to do a colposcopy as my regular pap smears just weren't getting results and they gave me a detailed information booklet.

The booklet mentions HPV a lot of times, but only mentioned herpes once and that was to say that just b/c you have HPV it doesn't mean you have herpes. I would think if people with herpes were at a higher risk of cervical cancer they would mention it in the literature as quite a high amount of the population has genital herpes.

At a guess, perhaps herpes which constantly o/b's on your cervix might affect the delicate tissue of the cervix and become an irritant, but then cancer of the cervix moves quite slowly and if you have regular pap tests they would catch it quite fast.

The booklet goes on to mention some key facts:

1 HPV is a virus, which not even condoms can protect you from this virus and there are 100 variations of it, of which only certain varieties can cause cancer of the cervix.