It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High Cholesterol Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2005, 04:10 PM   #1
(female)

happycow HB User
Confused about what I can/can't eat...

I have 250+ cholesterol, trying to lower it. Confused about what I can/can't eat... this is my first time... thanks for everybody's help!

Can I eat foods with saturated fats? I guess my question is, how many grams of saturated fats can I have a day? To lower my cholesterol, do I have to completely cut saturated fats from my diet or is a certain amount okay.

What about cholesterol?

Also, is "I can't believe it's not butter" an okay substitute to regular butter? What about 2% milk?

Thanks again!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-14-2005, 05:00 PM   #2
Inactive

heart44 HB User
Re: Confused about what I can/can't eat...

Quote:
Originally Posted by happycow
I have 250+ cholesterol
Can I eat foods with saturated fats? (how many grams of saturated fats daily)
Do I have to completely cut saturated fats from my diet or is a certain amount okay.
What about cholesterol?
What about 2% milk?
Hi Happy Cow,

Welcome to the boards.
Your TC is 250. What are your numbers?
HDL
LDL
Triglycerides

Good saturated fats are not bad. In moderation you can have butter.
I dislike anything that substitues for the real thing, such as butter, eggs, milk.
Eating foods with cholesterol does not drive up your cholesterol numbers.

Transfats are your worst enemy; anything that starts with hydrogenated.
The food makers take a good fat and make it lethal to our health.

Best diet - Fresh fruits, vegetables, protein, good fats and complex carbs.
Avoid processed foods and fast food.
Just my personal opinion, but the low fat low cholesterol "Heart Healthy"
diet is on its' way out. Our bodies need both fat and cholesterol.

Frankie

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-15-2005, 07:56 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)